Hunting books available online:
Being a responsible user of the Maine outdoors means staying informed of, and complying with, the current laws and rules.
MDIFW's popular summary guides make it easy to find and follow the laws and rules that apply to you. And now, our NEW digital formats allow you to quickly check a law, confirm legal hunting hours, look up best practices and more—from anywhere, anytime.
No cell coverage in the woods? No problem:
Visit mefishwildlife.com/laws and browse by activity. Before you head into the woods, follow these instructions to save an offline law book or quick reference guide to your mobile device.
Go to mefishwildlife.com/laws to save a copy and/or print just the pages you need.
FAQs and inportant links:
- Maine resident fishing licenses cost $25 plus a $2 service fee. For other options please refer to this IFW website.
- Freshwater fishing licenses include the saltwater recreational fish registry. Saltwater fish recreational registry only can be done through our office for a $2 service fee or through the Department of Marine Resourses website.
- Any resident or non-resident 16 years of older must possess a valid fishing license.
- Hunting licenses cost $26 plus a $2 service fee. Proof of Hunter Safety Course completion or previously issued hunting license is required. For other license options or more information please refer to this IFW website.
- Combination hunting/fishing licenses are $43 plus a $2 service fee. Proof of Hunter Safety Course completion or previously issued hunting license is required
- A junior hunting license permits persons under 16 years of age to hunt all legal big game and small game with a firearm, muzzleloader, bow and arrow or crossbow. For detailed information please refer to this IFW website.
- ATV registration information.
- Snowmobile registration information.
- Boat registration information.
Website for Department of IFW